Welcome to College of Agriculture Kolhapur

Dr. S.R. Shinde

Dr. S.R. Shinde

From the Desk of Associate Dean

Kolhapur is predominant area in cultivation of Paddy, Sugarcane, Banana, Soybean, and Vegetables. The region is famous for Dairy, Poultry farms and Co-operative sugar Factories. Many educational trusts were emerged and established in this region.

College of Agriculture, Kolhapur, was also established to educate and disseminate need based agricultural technologies to the farming community of this region at Kasaba Bawada on 30th June, 1963, under Shivaji University, Kolhapur and 63 students were admitted for the first batch.

Decision was taken by Maharastra State government to establish Agriculture Universities in 1968 and Mahatama Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth was established for Western Maharashtra at Rahuri, Dist. Ahmadnagar in 1969 and ten districts are under the jurisdiction of the University.

College of Agriculture, Kolhapur was established for three agriculturally progressive districts viz., Kolhapur, Sangli and Satara. It was shifted at present location near Shivaji University on Old Pune-Banglore National High-way No. 4 in 1968. This College encompasses total area of about 131.38 hectares, out of which 85.55 ha. Is available at main campus.

Read More